Carte blanche to
Kleber Mendonça Filho

October

10-14, 2018

Carte blanche to
Kleber Mendonça Filho

Kleber Mendonça Filho is the leading figure of the Recife cinema, the director of two big feature-length films (Les Bruits de Recife, Aquarius) and he does us the honor of planning four films. Four pieces of work which reflect him very well and which establish a thrilling discussion with his work. We know the acuity of Filho’s eye about the brazilian society, and more generally about a world made of tensions and divisions. Being a filmmaker and a film buff but also a movie critic and a festival planner, he is in the best position to talk about this carte blanche.

Nathan Reneaud

 

So, I have been given the opportunity to choose four films for my carte blanche in Bordeaux. Thank you. As I understand, it is a chance to share these choices both as films in public screenings and also as personal experiences of mine. I picked these four films which might result in some fine discovery in some rainy festival day. They are quite recent in terms of Cinema History, and I suspect they are interesting points of view on what we are all living today in the world. They all have their admirers, but I also believe they should be more widely seen and recognized. They are films that made me want to make films.

Kleber Mendonça Filho

Film programming
2018

Vinil Verde

Kleber Mendonça Filho

BRA / 2004 / 17 MIN

October 10, 2:00 PM – Cinéma Utopia

❢ With Kleber Mendonça Filho

Electrodomestica

Kleber Mendonça Filho

BRA / 2005 / 22 MIN

October 12, 11:00 AM – Cinéma Utopia

❢ With Kleber Mendonça Filho

Little Cotton Girl

Kleber Mendonça Filho, Daniel Bandeira

BRA / 2003 / 7 MIN

October 14, 2:00 PM – Cinéma Utopia

❢ With Kleber Mendonça Filho

Divine Intervention

Elia Suleiman

FRA-MAR-ALL-PAL / 2002 / 92 MIN

Elia Suleiman’s Divine Intervention is very much about tension, a beautiful observation on life in Nazareth, and I love the way scenes unfold before the camera. I am fully aware of the historical and social implications of life in Palestine in and under Israel, but I never forgot how Suleiman’s film talked to me as a Brazilian, as I come from a peaceful country where things are often on the brink of collapse, and even that is quite uncertain. Some people find this film rather funny, but I find it incredibly sad and disturbing.

October 12, 11:00 AM – Cinéma Utopia

❢ With Kleber Mendonça Filho

Lone Star

John Sayles

USA / 1996 / 135 MIN

Lone Star is a wonderful picture from John Sayles, in my mind one of the great American films from the last 30 years. It is very much about borders and boundaries and dividing lines. It is also about the past and personal pieces of archaeology, and how time impacts us, and how we are politics and living pieces of history. Lone Star did have a fair amount of recognition back in 1996, but I feel it needs to be reassessed by younger cinephiles who appreciate American Cinema.

October 14, 2:00 PM – Cinéma Utopia

❢ With Kleber Mendonça Filho

Twenty Years Later

Eduardo Coutinho

BRA / 1984 / 120 MIN

In some strange and fascinating way, Eduardo Coutinho’s Cabra Marcado Para Morrer, released ten years before Lone Star, has so much in common with Sayle’s film, while being a completely different film. A 20-30 year period separates past and present in both films. The implications of one single incident and how it affects lives into the future are mind boggling. The film was initially shot in 1964 as a narrative fiction film, the shoot interrupted by the military regime in Brazil. 20 years later, Coutinho, one of Brazil’s greatest filmmakers, went back to the northeastern region where he originally shot his film to show, now as a documentary, what happened to the one family he knew and how they were affected by politically motivated violence. The central character, a woman named Elizabeth Teixeira, towers head and shoulders above everyone else as the face of dignity under the weight of injustice.

October 12, 5:00 PM – Cinéma Utopia

❢ With Kleber Mendonça Filho

Made in Britain

Alan Clarke

GBR / 1982 / 116 MIN

Something amazing from Great Britain, by Alan Clarke, a filmmaker I admire. Made in Britain (1982), a fast paced portrait of Britain as shown to us through the eyes and voice of a young man named Trevor (Tim Roth on his first role). Trevor is a skinhead, a racist pig who expresses himself through brutality and prejudice, and his outlook on life, on Britain and himself is quite hard to watch, but also an amazing act of portraiture by Clarke, working on a script by David Leland.

October 10, 2:00 PM – Cinéma Utopia

❢ With Kleber Mendonça Filho

    Sorry, no posts matched your criteria.

Carte blanche
Kleber Mendonça Filho

Du 10 au 14

octobre 2018

Carte blanche
Kleber Mendonça Filho

Figure de proue du cinéma de Recife, réalisateur de deux longs métrages imposants (Les Bruits de Recife, Aquarius), Kleber Mendonça Filho nous fait l’honneur de programmer quatre films. Quatre oeuvres qui lui ressemblent beaucoup et qui instaurent un dialogue passionnant avec son travail, dont trois de ses courts métrages sont présentés en ouverture de séance. On connaît l’acuité du regard de Filho sur la société brésilienne, et en général sur un monde fait de tensions et de divisions. C’est encore lui, cinéaste et cinéphile, mais aussi critique et programmateur de festival, qui parle le mieux de cette carte blanche.

Nathan Reneaud

 

On m’a donc donné l’opportunité de choisir quatre films pour ma carte blanche à Bordeaux. Merci. C’est une chance de pouvoir partager ces choix en tant que films en les projetant et en tant qu’expériences personnelles. Ils sont relativement récents si l’on se base sur l’histoire du cinéma mais je pense qu’ils donnent des points de vue intéressants sur ce que l’on vit tous aujourd’hui dans le monde actuel. Ils ont tous leurs admirateurs mais je crois aussi qu’ils devraient être plus largement vus et reconnus. Ce sont des films qui m’ont donné envie de faire des films.

Kleber Mendonça Filho

Les films
de la programmation 2018

Vinil Verde

Kleber Mendonça Filho

BRA / 2004 / 17 MIN

10 octobre, 14:00 – Cinéma Utopia

❢ En présence de Kleber Mendonça Filho

Electrodomestica

Kleber Mendonça Filho

BRA / 2005 / 22 MIN

12 octobre, 11:00 – Cinéma Utopia
❢ En présence de Kleber Mendonça Filho

Little Cotton Girl

Kleber Mendonça Filho, Daniel Bandeira

BRA / 2003 / 7 MIN

14 octobre, 14:00 – Cinéma Utopia

❢ En présence de Kleber Mendonça Filho

Intervention Divine

Elia Suleiman

FRA-MAR-ALL-PAL / 2002 / 92 MIN

Intervention Divine d’Elia Suleiman est tout entier sous tension. C’est une belle observation de la vie à Nazareth et j’aime beaucoup la façon dont les scènes se déroulent face à la caméra. Je suis parfaitement conscient des répercussions sociales et historiques de la vie en Palestine en Israël et sous occupation israélienne, mais je n’ai jamais oublié à quel point le film de Suleiman m’a parlé, à moi, Brésilien, dans la mesure où je viens d’un pays en paix où les choses sont à la limite de s’effondrer – bien que même cela ne soit pas vraiment sûr. Certaines personnes trouvent ce film plutôt drôle mais je le trouve incroyablement triste et troublant.

12 octobre, 11:00 – Cinéma Utopia

❢ En présence de Kleber Mendonça Filho

Lone Star

John Sayles

USA / 1996 / 135 MIN

Lone Star est un merveilleux film de John Sayles, je le tiens pour un des meilleurs films américains de ces trente dernières années. Il traite surtout des frontières, des délimitations et des lignes de démarcation, mais il aborde aussi le passé, les recherches que l’on fait sur nous-même, à la manière d’un archéologue, comment le temps nous affecte et à quel point nous sommes tous des acteurs politiques et vivants de l’Histoire. Lone Star a en effet reçu une certaine reconnaissance en 1996 mais j’ai la conviction qu’il devrait être réapproprié par de plus jeunes cinéphiles qui apprécient le cinéma américain.

14 octobre, 14:00 – Cinéma Utopia

❢ En présence de Kleber Mendonça Filho

Un homme à abattre

Eduardo Coutinho

BRA / 1984 / 120 MIN

D’une manière assez étrange et fascinante, Cabra Marcado Para Morrer d’Eduardo Coutinho qui est sorti dix ans avant Lone Star, a beaucoup en commun avec le film de Sayle, bien que ce soit un film totalement différent. Une période de vingt ou trente ans sépare le passé du présent dans ces deux films. Voir les conséquences d’un seul incident et comment ce dernier influence nos vies futures est ahurissant. Le film a été initialement tourné en 1964 comme une fiction mais le tournage a été interrompu par le régime militaire brésilien. Vingt ans après, Coutinho, qui est un des plus grands cinéastes du Brésil, est retourné dans le nord-est du pays où il a tourné ce film dans le but de montrer, au final sous la forme d’un documentaire, ce qu’il est arrivé à une des familles qu’il connaissait et comment ils ont été affecté par des violences d’ordre politique. Le personnage central, une femme dénommée Elizabeth Teixeira, s’impose en tant que symbole de la dignité sous le poids de l’injustice.

12 octobre, 17:00 – Cinéma Utopia

❢ En présence de Kleber Mendonça Filho

Made in Britain

Alan Clarke

GBR / 1982 / 116 MIN

Quelque chose d’incroyable, un film tout droit venu de Grande-Bretagne et réalisé par Alan Clarke, qui est un cinéaste que j’admire. Made in Britain (1982) est un portrait rapide de la Grande Bretagne présenté à travers les yeux et la voix d’un jeune homme nommé Trevor (joué par Tim Roth pour son premier rôle). Trevor est un skinhead et un raciste qui ne s’exprime qu’à travers la brutalité et la discrimination. Sa vision de la vie, de la Grande Bretagne et de lui-même est relativement difficile à regarder mais c’est aussi une magnifique portraiture de la part de Clarke, d’après le scénario de David Leland.

10 octobre, 14:00 – Cinéma Utopia

❢ En présence de Kleber Mendonça Filho